jump to navigation

The worst thing imaginable August 23, 2009

Posted by johnbohlinger in Uncategorized.
trackback
Aug and his friend Isiah in 1998 in our front yard

Aug and his friend Isiah in 1998 in our front yard

I used to think that losing August was the worst thing imaginable.   After two years and three months with out him, I know that the worst thing imaginable would be if August had never been born.  Having him here, even for a short time, is worth any kind of pain, even the pain of not having him here now.

Comments»

1. me - August 25, 2009

Absolutely true, John. M
My mother died when I was 8 and I’m – very much – the person that I’m today because of the love she gave me. I can’t think of myself without her in my life, even though it was a short time.

2. elvira - August 25, 2009

I admire you for that comment, John. You are generous and brave. Good for you!

3. rushchick - September 28, 2009

I have come to that conclusion as well…….I would have rather gone through the pregnancy and pain of child birth, watch her grow through out those 10 years, than to never have known her………

When did August die by the way? I Love that name, Lizzy’s birthday and my birthday are both in August, just 3 days apart….In fact she was due on my birthday but decided to come on the 14th……..August is a bittersweet month for me……….Lizzy passed away on 2-25-07. The months of February and August I dread…..

4. amy kirk - July 20, 2014

Thank u for sharing john. Losing a child is where u find strength you never knew u had. Its by far the most difficult thing one can go through. But as in all things there is always beauty in pain and the beauty is.. You realize that as awful as this world can be .. After going through such loss and surviving the pain.. U are then as strong as a person can be I think.


Leave a Reply

